News & Events

Nano News

NanoEngineering professor, Shaochen Chen and his team of researchers have discovered a way to use 3D printing technology to create customized implants that can boost the power of cell-based therapies to repair injured spinal cords.

NanoEngineering professor, Dr. Ying Shirley Meng, is a finalists for the prestigious Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists. Dr.

NanoEngineering professor, Kesong Yang, and his team of researchers have discovered new hybrid halide materials beyond perovskites. These new materials would be stable and used to design hybrid semiconductor materials for optoelectronics.

The Department of NanoEngineering would like to congratulate Dr. Jesse Jokerst, for being awarded a five-year, $550,000 grant through the National Science Foundation's Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program.

NanoEngineering professor, Dr.

NanoEngineering professor, Dr. Shirley Meng, is one of six UC San Diego faculty members who will be honored at the Chancellor's Associates Faculty Excellence Awards.

Nanoengineering professor, Dr. Nicole Steinmetz, is being recognized for Women's History Month by the National Nanotechnology Initiative. Dr.

UC San Diego researchers at the Center for Wearable Sensors have developed a new testing strip that can detect Fentanyl. Center Director and Chair of the Department of NanoEngineering, Dr.

Congratulations to Dr. Joseph Wang (Department of NanoEngineering Chair and Professor) and his research lab group on their paper published in Nature Biotechnology. Their latest paper presents their research on "Wearable Biosensors for Healthcare Monitoring."

Dept News

Congratulations to Dr. Ashley Kroll (Zhang Nanomedicine Lab), who recently received her Ph.D in NanoEngineering. Her defense on "Cell Membrane-Coated Nanoparticles for Immune Modulation" was presented on June 6, 2019. Dr.


Congratulations to Manas Likhit Holekevi Chandrappa  (Materials Virtual Lab), who recently received his M.S. in NanoEngineering. His thesis defense on "Strain Modulation of Properties of Inorganic Halide Perovskite (CsPbBr3): A DFT Study"  was presented on June 5, 2019. 

The Department of NanoEngineering would like to congratulate the following recipients for these 18-19 academic year awards!

Post-Docs of the Year:

1. Laure Kayser (Lipomi Research Group)

Congratulations to Eric Ruike Zhao (Jokerst Bioimaging Lab), who recently received his M.S. in Chemical Engineering. His thesis defense on "Biocompatibilty and Photoacoustic Imaging of Silicon Carbide Nanomaterials in Stem Cells" was presented on May 16, 2019.

Congratulations to Zachary Dorfman (Fenning Research Group), who recently received his M.S. in Chemical Engineering. His thesis defense on "Toward Commercial Perovskite Solar Manufacturing" was presented on May 15, 2019.

Congratulations to Dr. Junxin Wang (Jokerst Bioimaging Lab), who recently received his Ph.D in NanoEngineering. His defense on "Photoacoustic Monitoring in Anticoagulant Therapy" was presented on May 14, 2019. Dr.

NanoEngineering student, Will Tanaka and Environmental Chemistry major, Enid Partika were awarded with the prestigious 2019 Lemelson-MIT Student Prize in recognition for their work on the BioEnergy Project.

Our department would like to congratulate NanoEngineering Ph.D.