Nano News

The Steinmetz Lab was featured on CBS8 news to discuss their efforts on cancer treatment through their research on cowpea mosaic plant virus. Watch to find out more!

Congratulations to Dr.

Congratulations to Dr. Ping Liu and Dr. Shyue Ping Ong on their latest groundbreaking research! They discovered that adding iodine to sulfur gives it a semi-conductor level conductivity and lowers its melting point.

Congratulations to Dr. Joseph Wang! Woxen University has recently named their Chemistry Department after Joe and is now the "Joseph Wang Department of Chemistry." 

Congratulations to Dr.

Congratulations to Dr. Eric Fullerton, who has been named a 2023 Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors! 

Congratulations to Professor Joe Wang, who has received the 2024 American Chemical Society Award in Analytical Chemistry. This is his third ACS National Award in his career!


Collaboration at the UC San Diego Materials Research Science and Engineering Center, MRSEC, which involves researchers from Jonathan Pokorski and Shaochen Chen labs, have developed a new type of material that is able to clean pollutants from water.

Congratulations to Sheng Xu for being a Finalist for the 2023 Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists! The awards celebrate the innovative achievements of faculty under the age of 42 in the areas of Chemistry, Physical S

Congrats to Ken Vecchio for being selected for the Albert Sauveur Achievement Award from ASM International.  The citation reads: “For innovation in structural materials, leadership in the application of computational tools in alloy development, for fostering a new vison for NanoTechnology educati

Congratulations to Shaochen! He received the Frederick W.

Congratulations to Zheng Chen, who has received the 2023 Battery Division Early Career Award by the Electrochemical Society!

Congratulations to David for winning a DOE grant of $11.25M along with MIT collaborators for a national center for perovskite solar cell R&D!

Congratulations to Nicole Steinmetz, who was named as one of the top 23 women academic entrepreneurs by BIOS Community!

Congratulations to Dr. Jinhye Bae, who has been selected as a 2023 PMSE Early Investigator Honoree by the American Chemical Society! Information about the award can be found here

Congratulations to Dr. Darren Lipomi for his contribution to teaching! He was selected by the Academic Senate Committee on Senate Award to receive the 2023 Distinguished Teaching Award.

Congratulations to Dr. Joseph Wang who received the 2023 Ralph N. Adams Award! This award, established in honor of Ralph N.

Congratulations to Dr. Tod Pascal, who has been selected as a 2023 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow! This is a prestigious award for early career scientists.

Congratulations to Dr. Shaochen Chen on his research advancement and recent publication, "High Cell Density and High Resolution 3D Bioprinting for Fabricating Vascularized Tissues," published in Science Advances

Congratulations to Dr. Ping Liu on his latest paper, "Growing single-crystalline seeds on lithiophobic substrates to enable fast-charging lithium-metal batteries," published in Nature Energy.