10th Anniversary

On June 2, 2017 the UC San Diego Department of NanoEngineering celebrated our ten-year anniversary.  Our department was founded on July 1, 2007 as one of the first nanoengineering programs in the United States and has since made significant impact worldwide. This important milestone inspires us to pause and reflect not just on the growth of our department but also on the broader field of nanotechnology.  Nanoengineering at UC San Diego is now world renowned, with rapidly evolving vibrant research programs and major initiatives.  In recent years, our faculty has made pioneering contributions to nanoscale sciences that were reported in leading international journals and have received numerous national and international awards. 

The 10th Anniversary celebration program included seminars from visiting professors presenting on challenges and new developments in nanotechnology. Our department's own faculty, Dr. Darren Lipomi, Dr. Shirley Meng, and Dr. Liangfang Zhang shared their efforts and new perspectives with guests through presentations.  UC San Diego Alumni and Program Officers participated in panels and shared their projects and reflections, as well.  All presentations and discussions highlighted the advancement of nanoengineering as a University department and the field itself.  

We owe much of our success to the outstanding campus leadership at UC San Diego, our industry partners, our highly talented faculty, staff, and students. Thank you to those who joined us in our celebration and continue to support us.  Find out how you can contribute to our future success by visiting our Sponsorship Opportunities page!


Please view the 10th Anniversary Celebration Photo Gallery below:


NE45.jpg NE48.jpg
NE4.jpg NE10.jpg
NE11.jpg NE7.jpg
NE13.jpg NE15.jpg
NE16.jpg NE17.jpg
NE18.jpg NE19.jpg
NE20.jpg NE21.jpg
NE22.jpg NE23.jpg
NE24.jpg NE26.jpg
NE27.jpg NE2.jpg
NE9.jpg NE28.jpg
NE29.jpg NE30.jpg
NE31.jpg NE32.jpg
NE3.jpg NE33.jpg
NE34.jpg NE35.jpg
NE36.jpg NE37.jpg
NE38.jpg NE39.jpg
NE40.jpg NE41.jpg
NE42.jpg NE8.jpg
NE14.jpg NE44.jpg
NE46.jpg NE47.jpg
NE49.jpg NE5.jpg
NE1.jpg NE12.jpg
NE43.jpg NE6.jpg